Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Pedrick, Bitts and Walker release "Three"

Innocence Mission bassist, Mike Bitts, announced today a new jazz improvisation album that can be purchased and downloaded at

"Three is the result of an experiment to create a live and unrehearsed single work of collective improvisation that remains accessible on multiple levels for the listener. The unifying concept of the project relies on a framework of designated meters, tempos and sonorities based upon the number three. This framework is at once intended to provide continuity and facilitate a free exchange of ideas between three musicians with equal roles. Each selection on this recording is a first take whose beginning, middle and end was unknown at the outset."

The album was recorded by Dave Pedrick (guitar), Mike Bitts (bass) and Aaron Walker (drums).